STATE OF MINNESOTA

IN SUPREME COURT

C9-81-1206

PROMULGATION OF AMENDMENTS TO THE RULES OF THE SUPREME COURT FOR REGISTRATION OF ATTORNEYS

ORDER

WHEREAS, the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board and the Board of Law Examiners filed petitions with this Court that recommended amendments to Rule 2 of the Rules of the Supreme Court for Registration of Attorneys, and

WHEREAS, the Supreme Court held a hearing on the proposed amendments on May 29, 1996, and

WHEREAS, the Supreme Court has reviewed the recommendations and is fully advised in the premises,

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED:

1. Rule 2 of the Rules of the Supreme Court for Registration of Attorneys is amended as follows:

RULE 2. REGISTRATION FEE

In order to defray the expenses of examinations and investigation for admission to the bar and disciplinary proceedings, over and above the amount paid by applicants for such admission, with exception hereinafter enumerated, each attorney admitted to practice law in this state and those members of the judiciary who are required to be admitted to practice as a prerequisite to holding office shall hereinafter annually pay to the clerk of the appellate courts a registration fee in the sum of One Hundred Forty-two Dollars (\$142.00) One Hundred Fifty-seven Dollars (\$157.00) or in such lesser sum as the court may annually hereinafter determine.

Such fee, or portion thereof, shall be paid on or before the first day of January, April,

July, or October of each year as requested by the clerk of the appellate courts.

All sums so received shall be allocated as follows:

\$15.00 \$20.00 to the State Board of Law Examiners

\$7.00 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education

\$100.00 \$110.00 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board

\$20.00 to the Minnesota Client Security Fund.

The following attorneys and judges shall pay annual registration fee of Forty-two Dollars (\$42.00) Fifty-one Dollars (\$51.00):

- (a) Any attorney or judge whose permanent residence is outside the State of Minnesota and who does not practice law within the state;
 - (b) Any attorney who has not been admitted to practice for more than three years;
 - (c) Any attorney while on duty in the armed forces of the United States.

The Forty-two Dollars (\$42.00)Fifty-one Dollars (\$51.00) so received shall be allocated as follows:

\$15.00 \$20.00 to the State Board of Law Examiners

\$7.00 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education

\$20.00 \$24.00 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board.

Any attorney who is retired from any gainful employment or permanently disabled, or who files annually with the clerk of the appellate courts an affidavit that he or she is so retired or disabled and not engaged in the practice of law, shall be placed in a fee-exempt category and shall remain in good standing. An attorney claiming retired or permanently disabled status who subsequently resumes active practice of law shall promptly file notice of such change of status with the clerk of the appellate courts and pay the annual registration fee.

Any judge who is retired from any gainful employment or permanently disabled, who no longer serves on the bench or practices law, and who files annually with the clerk of the appellate courts that he or she is so retired or disabled and no engaged in the practice of law, shall be placed in a fee-exempt category and shall remain in good standing. A judge claiming retired or permanently disabled status who subsequently resumes service on the bench or the active practice of law shall promptly file notice of such change of status with the clerk of the

appellate courts and pay the annual registration fee.

2. The increase in attorney registration fees shall be effective for licenses due for renewal on October 1, 1996, and for new licenses issued on or after October 1, 1996.

DATED: June 13, 1996

BY THE COURT:

A.M. Keith Chief Justice

OFFICE OF APPELLATE COURTS

JUN 1 3 1996

FILED